Faculty

Jeff Bates
Assistant Professor (Lecturing), Materials Science & Engineering
Education & Outreach Director
Phone: (801) 581-8737
Email: jeff.bates@utah.edu
Dmitry Bedrov
Associate Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 585-3381
Email: d.bedrov@utah.edu
Steve Blair
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
IRG 1 Director, Industrial Outreach Committee-Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 585-6157
Email: blair@ece.utah.edu
Christoph Boehme
Professor, Physics
IRG 2
Phone: (801) 581-6806
Email: boehme@physics.utah.edu
Vikram Deshpande
Assistant Professor, Physics
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 581-6901
Email: vdesh@physics.utah.edu
Siva Guruswamy
Professor, Metallurgical Engineering
IRG 1
Phone: (801) 581-7217
Email: s.guruswamy@utah.edu
Joel Harris
Distinguished Professor, Chemistry
IRG 1
Phone: (801) 581-3585
Email: harrisj@chem.utah.edu
Ian Harvey
Research Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Director of Shared Facilities, Industrial Outreach Committee Member
Phone: (801) 585-6162
Email: IRHarvey@eng.utah.edu
Mike Kirby
Professor, School of Computing
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 585-3421
Email: kirby@cs.utah.edu
Feng Liu
Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
IRG 1, IRG 2, Seed Program
Phone: (801) 587-7719
Email: fliu@eng.utah.edu
Joel Miller
Distinguished Professor, Chemistry
IRG 2, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 585-5455
Email: jsmiller@chem.utah.edu
Shelley Minteer
Professor, Chemistry, Materials Science & Engineering
Executive Committee Rotating Member, IRG 1, Seed Program, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 587-8325
Email: minteer@chem.utah.edu
Valeria Molinero
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 585-9618
Email: valeria.molinero@utah.edu
Ajay Nahata
Associate Dean, College of Engineering
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Center Director, IRG 1
Phone: (801) 581-5184
Email: ajay.nahata@utah.edu
Mikhail Raikh
Professor, Physics
IRG 1, IRG 2
Phone: (801) 585-5017
Email: raikh@physics.utah.edu
Berardi Sensale-Rodriguez
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
IRG 1
Phone: (801) 585-5657
Email: berardi.sensale@utah.edu
Jennifer Shumaker-Parry
Associate Professor, Chemistry
IRG 1
Phone: (801) 585-1434
Email: shumaker-parry@chem.utah.edu
Taylor Sparks
Assistant Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 581-8632
Email: sparks@eng.utah.edu
Ashutosh Tiwari
Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
IRG 2 Director, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 585-1666
Email: tiwari@eng.utah.edu
Z. Valy Vardeny
Distinguished Professor, Physics
IRG 1, IRG 2, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 581-8372
Email: val@physics.utah.edu
Anil Virkar
Distinguished Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
IRG 1, Scientific Advisory Committee
Phone: (801) 581-5396
Email: anil.virkar@m.cc.utah.edu
Luisa Whittaker-Brooks
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
IRG 1, IRG 2
Phone: (801) 587-9973
Email: lwhittaker@chem.utah.edu
Clayton Williams
Professor, Physics
IRG 2
Phone: (801) 581-3226
Email: clayton@physics.utah.edu
Heayoung Yoon
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
IRG 1
Phone: (801) 585-0334
Email: heayoung.yoon@utah.edu
Ilya Zharov
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Seed Program
Phone: (801) 587-9335
Email: i.zharov@utah.edu

Prior Years Seed Program Faculty

Mathieu Francoeur

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Design, fabrication and characterization of Mie resonance-based three-dimensional isotropic metamaterials for tuning thermal radiative properties
Phone: (801) 581-5721
Email: mfrancoeur@mech.utah.edu

Jordan Gerton

Associate Professor, Physics
Probing and Manipulating Individual Surface States on GaN Nanowires: Implications for Solar-Driven, Plasmon-Enhanced Water Splitting
Phone: (801) 585-0068
Email: jgerton@physics.utah.edu

Hanseup Kim

Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Design and Fabrication of Plasmonic Photonic Crystal-Based Thermal Antenna
Phone: (801) 587-9497
Email: hanseup@ece.utah.edu

Stephan Le Bohec

Associate Professor, Physics
Controlling properties of graphene with potential and resonant impurities
Phone: (801) 587-9923
Email: lebohec@physics.utah.edu

Yan (Sarah) Li

Assistant Professor, Physics
Optical probes of spin triplets in organic semiconductors with enhanced spin-orbit coupling
Phone: (801) 581-6901
Email: sarahli@physics.utah.edu

Janis Louie

Professor, Chemistry
Syntheses of Organometallic Topological Insulators
Phone: (801) 581-7309
Email: louie@chem.utah.edu

Shelley Minteer

Professor, Chemistry
Tailoring of Micellar Polymer/Carbon Nanotube Composites to Immobilize Thylakoid Membranes for Solar Cell Applications
Phone: (801) 587-8325
Email: minteer@chem.utah.edu

Eugene Mishchenko

Professor, Physics
Controlling properties of graphene with potential and resonant impurities
Phone: (801) 581-7115
Email: eugene.mishchenko@gmail.com

Keunhan Park

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Design and Fabrication of Plasmonic Photonic Crystal-Based Thermal Antenna
Phone: (801) 581-4260
Email: kpark@mech.utah.edu

Dmytro (Dima) Pesin

Assistant Professor, Physics
Transport and correlated phases in system with strong spin-orbit interaction
Phone: (801) 581-6901
Email: d.pesin@utah.edu

Bart Raeymaekers

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Design, fabrication and characterization of Mie resonance-based three-dimensional isotropic metamaterials for tuning thermal radiative properties
Phone: (801) 585-7594
Email: bart.raeymaekers@utah.edu

Andrey Rogachev

Associate Professor, Physics
Dynamic Behavior of Organic Magnetoresistance probed with Admittance and Noise Spectroscopy
Phone: (801) 585-0792
Email: rogachev@physics.utah.edu

Oleg Starykh

Professor, Physics
Transport and correlated phases in system with strong spin-orbit interaction
Phone: (801) 581-6424
Email: starykh@physics.utah.edu

Ling Zang

Professor, Nano Institute
Organic Nanofibril Solar Cells with Ultrahigh Open Circuit Voltage
Phone: (801) 587-1529
Email: lzang@eng.utah.edu

Ilya Zharov

Associate Professor, Chemistry
Novel SPE Materials with Highly Ordered Hybrid Nanostructured Architectures for Lithium Rechargeable Batteries
Phone: (801) 587-9335
Email: i.zharov@utah.edu