Plasmonic Metamaterials



The central mission of the interdisciplinary activities of IRG1 is to push the boundaries of plasmonic research by understanding and extending plasmonics into revolutionary new areas. Using an interactive research approach, our goal is to develop new materials, concepts, capabilities, devices, and technologies.


Our Interactive Approach

IRG1 combines three focused research groups (FRGs), which work together in the search for new plasmonic metamaterials, utilizing both unconventional metals (i.e. materials that are not conventionally used for plasmonics), structures, and spectral ranges.

THz Plasmonics.

The goal of this FRG is to understand the basic properties of surface plasmon-polaritons (SPPs) in a broad range of structured conventional and exotic metals in the THz spectral range and determine the likelihood of achieving the desired response from such plasmonic metamaterials. These new insights will be applied in the development of new device concepts, paving the path to next-generation technologies operating in the THz range.

Magneto-Plasmonics and Magnonics

This FRG aims to understand the extent to which magneto-plasmons and magnons influence the spin properties in structured materials. By developing periodically organized ferromagnetic nanostructures, called magnonic crystals, this FRG is at the forefront of magnetic metamaterials research. Controlling spin-wave propagation and polarization is the key to future information transfer and processing concepts.

UV Plasmonics

The UV plasmonics FRG focusses on investigating the plasmonic properties of materials and structures in the 3 to 5 eV energy range. The goal is to develop new plasmonic materials to control the interaction between light and electronic resonances of organic molecules. Goals of this FRG include material properties calculations and synthesis, plasmonic device simulations and fabrication, and measurements of UV photon processes.


The IRG1 Team

The IRG1 team is a truly interdisciplinary group of about 35 investigators (faculty, postdocs and students) from 5 departments (chemistry, electrical & computer engineering, materials, metallurgy, and physics) and 3 colleges (engineering, mines, and science).